Keep Your Fingers Crossed Part 1 Blog #8 (Success-look for second part)

Image

“Keep your fingers crossed,” were the words I lived by every time I went to the local mini-mart. It was a very easy and simple process really, and also a very simple and easy way to lose money. But it was the way I chose to spend my money. You can either spend your money, save your money, invest it, or give it away. I was the best at number one. I pulled up to the mart as usual one friday afternoon right after what I considered to be “payday.” My manager handed me my paycheck, and as usual I asked for it in cash. The clerk handed me my pay in an envelope, I thanked him, and veered off out of the store. The envelope also knew exactly where it would be headed. I promptly headed to my car, and unlocked it midway, in such a manner that I could be in right as I reached it, I had no time to spare. I inserted my key, and with a quick flick of the wrist my car started without delay. I pulled off, happy as a dog, waiting to see if my paycheck would for once not go to waste. I had to limit myself, but today was extra special because it was the last day for drawings of the mega millions. Two minutes was all the time needed to reach this special mini-mart, and it had many more winners than any other gas station around. Pickings were slim I presumed, so I instead went to this filling station.

“Your back,” the clerk exclaimed.

“Not a surprise to you sir…”

“Oh most definitely not. You got here just in time, we’re closing soon. I assume you know the drawings are tonight for-”

“The mega millions,” I shouted. “I know…two for ten please.”

He began to ring up the tickets. I had hoped he would reach for them first, but this action didn’t seem to be in the cards for me tonight. I hoped the odds of winning on the other hand, would be in my favor. I waited impatiently as his ass slowly stepped up to the locked drawer. He soon spun around and handed me what he called, “the winners of the night.”

“I would hope,” I mumbled, while looking down at the cards. I flipped the two babies around, and took them to the scanner just a few steps behind me. With my back turned I scanned the first card and waited for it to calculate the results. Cartoon-looking characters arose onto the screen speaking, “sorry, play again with us next time!” Play again with us next time… The next time I play I will spend 10 more dollars and therefore not be playing anything, but instead still spending all my money. This was not a game to me, as many seemed to make it out to be. This was a trip back and forth, almost the distance from home to work, to get something processed in a machine, I physically could not do myself. It was very irritating to know not a single thing could be done. I decided it was time to move on to card number two. This would be the one. I fully exerted my arm into the machine and waited for it to scan the ticket. I glanced down, but the red lasers were not beaming. I tilted my head up, and in doing so I was greeted with a nice text box reading, “That’s all for tonight folks.” I don’t know what it was about those cartoon characters, but they were playing this stupid game when I was in an emotional state of utter seriousness. I let the card fall and ran out of the store. Another day had been wasted, another paycheck-wasted. I didn’t even know if it was worth it to show my face back in the mart tonight. I struggled to get out of my car for a second time, and slowly protruded back in. The bell rang, and I peered in. The clerk looked up from what seemed to be a drawing, and was surprised to say for a third time, “you’re back.”

Leave a comment

1 Comment

  1. Hmmm….last line would be better if it was grammatically correct. “Your back” should be “you’re back”. That mistake is repeated, so you need to have a quick review of contractions:

    Sadly, your (not you’re) story is more true than most people would like. Many feel that lotteries are a “tax on the poor” because of the % of money spent on chance by lower income people.
    Rubric: attempts to synthesize information and form new meaning; well organized
    written in a somewhat interesting style and voice; words chosen mostly reflect author’s personality and brings content to life for the most part; sentence fluency is mostly achieved
    one MAJOR grammar error; some formatting to help make the post easier to read
    multimedia adds new information or perspective to post; categorized or tagged

    Reply

Leave a Reply

