Haters Gonna Hate

idek

“Haters Gonna Hate” is quite possibly one of the most annoying phrases used today, with the most annoying being “YOLO” (thanks Drake). This phrase has countless memes associated with it and is one of the most known sayings in modern American. I say American because only in America would we create such jems as this, YOLO,  Derp, Selfie, Hipster, and my personal favorite, Swag. These make me question whether my generation can do anything productive or if we will just explode in burst of swag-fire, with only our selfies remaining.

According to urbandictionary.com the phrase “haters gonna hate” represents “ones complete and total disregard of another’s negative comment towards the original person.” I couldve figured that out on my own without their help but you keep trying to figure that one out America. Sadly, thanks to Drake everyone knows YOLO. Swag seems to be this thing that only basketball players, rappers, and teenage boys have, but honestly I dont know what it mean, (secretly we are gay maybe?). The selfie is just something that narcissistic teens came up with so they could take pictures of themselves in the bathroom without being called weird. I have no idea what derp is I just know that its used a lot. And hipster just describes people who may one day make the world turn in the opposite direction because they don’t like anything thats popular or normal. America at its best here folks.

swag

“Timon and Pumba got swag yo!”

– some idiot somewhere

they-see-me-rollin-they-hatinThese words and phrases are at the center of American speech and are used in daily conversation. I can’t even begin to count how many times I hear these each day. In fact I probably see twice that on twitter. How is this related to my topic of hate you ask? Other than obvious connection of the word being used in the key phrase this post is built around, I hate, notice the bold (if there was underline available I would use it), these words and phrases. In fact most people claim to hate them and to hate on (another winner of a phrase) people who use them. That doesn’t stop them though from making my ears bleed by using them. I love this country.

On a side note the Washington Post reported on a study that was done to determine if haters do in fact hate. The final outcome: Haters Gonna Hate.  The subjects were asked their opinions on several subjects such as architecture, health care, crossword puzzles, taxidermy and Japan.  The researchers found that some people tend to dislike things such as camping, flu shots, and Japan, while other people tend to like things. The final assessment: Haters gonna hate, because it is what they were meant to do.

 

Just realized I forgot to include Word and Dope. Ones self-explanatory and ones a drug. I don’t even know anymore.

‘Merica

PS: I am an avid user of some of these so, yes, I am making my own ears bleed too.  YOLO!

yolo

http://www.washingtonpost.com/blogs/wonkblog/wp/2013/08/27/researchers-take-on-crucial-question-are-haters-gonna-hate/

Leave a comment

1 Comment

  1. I enjoyed this post (despite evidence that you need a lesson on possessives and titles!)
    There is evidence and your response to that evidence. There is multimedia.
    You do have more than one source incorporated…but not listed.
    RUBRIC:
    informative and reflective (cynically); synthesizes learned content and constructs new meaning; is organized (you do add a mid paragraph at conclusion) and written in an interesting style and voice; words used are carefully chosen, memorable, and bring the content to life;
    sentence fluency is smooth and naturally expressive
    grammar errors; formatting makes the post more interesting and easier to read
    multiple pieces of multimedia; multimedia adds new information or perspective to post; several links to places that add to readers understanding; post needs to be categorized and tagged; not all information sources are cited accurately

    Reply

Leave a Reply

