Today I walked into Calm

I sat in school all day and watched the snow fall straight. The flakes were large and fell at even rates of speed. The accumulation was rapid because the flakes would hit the ground and with the lack of wind they had no pressure to push them down, no wind. The snow was as fluffy as it could possibly be with the temperature sitting just below freezing so it was bearable to walk outside. I watched if fall all day and when it was time to go outside I knew just what I would walk into. The environment was completely still. There is nothing I love more than to have things slowed for me. Now the snow had made the pace of life bearable and calm enough to enjoy. My heart rate was at a resting pulse even as I walked to my car. The sensation I received from the contact of flakes on my cheeks was like nothing else.

Bon Iver’s Holocene is not necessarily about snow and the lyrics are not relevant to my post, but the sound applies perfectly to the feeling that comes with a light dusting of snow.

Previous Post
Leave a comment

1 Comment

  1. jmanley2

     /  November 28, 2012

    love that song man!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

