Blues Music

My favorite genre of music is blues. There is no more honest an expression of music than blues. can sit on a stool with my guitar and sing pretty songs about flowers and how in love I am or I can tell the truth and weep for all that I have lost–I’ll take the latter, the honest route. Straight forward honesty, that is what the blues is all about. The blues is not looking for sympathy or comfort, just a way of letting out all that angst, anger and sadness.

The Beatles have established themselves (in the eyes of many) as the best band ever, while I would not give them such a title, they were a fabulous band. However, I can honestly say that I only truly enjoy about 50% of the music put out by The Beatles. Their early work was all about love and sunshine and it disgusts me. The Beatles peak was (in my opinion) during the White Album. They stopped caring about making pop crap and focused on being true musicians.

My favorite Beatles song is “Yer Blues”–the opening line being, “Yes, I’m lonely…wanna die”

Though, The Beatles are like children when it comes to playing the blues. The true blues power lies in the hands of many men. Men like Eric Clapton, Gary Moore, Jeff Beck, B.B. King, Stevie Ray Vaughn, Jeff Healey, Jimi Hendrix and so many more.

One of my favorite blues songs is an Otis Redding tune called “Groaning the Blues” a song best performed by Eric Clapton.

The lyrics are pure sadness, the guitar is crying and the rhythm is heavy and slow.

Lyrics to “Groanin’ the Blues” :

I’m so tired of moaning,
tryin’ to groan away my blues
I’m so tired of moaning,
tryin’ to groan away my blues
I keep weepin’ and cryin’
every time I think of you

I would rather die of starvation,
perish out in the desert sun
I would rather die of starvation,
perish out in the desert sun
Than to think of some other man,
holdin’ you in his arms

My heart gets so heavy,
Lord I shakes down in my bones
My heart gets so heavy,
Lord I shakes down in my bones
I can’t hurt a murderer,
oh Lord but I’m forced to weep and moan

Leave a comment

2 Comments

  1. connorwives

     /  November 3, 2012

    Sweet post dude! Clapton’s got nothin on me!

    Reply
  2. Elliott: This is a better post…has voice. Just lacks a connection to topic! Where is your connection to defeat? Why are you making the reader do all the work?
    FROM RUBRIC: gives some new information on the topic; informational post-but not on defeat!
    I do like the lyrics available in the event I cannot get the video to play.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

