Calm, Cool and Collected

These are three words that I have heard from every coach I have ever had. In the coaches mind, each word wants you to do the same thing and that is to focus. The intended message to be relayed is that focus will bring success.
If the believe that if I were capable of ever being completely calm, cool, collected or focused at any point in time I would lead a far more successful and less confused life. There is so much to be aware of. College applications, school assignments, sports, clubs, religion, relationships, family and the list goes on. At this point in my life I am not able to succeed in all of these jobs, there is simply not enough time in the day. I am also sure that not only the majority of kids my age, but the rest of society has a hard time balancing all of their endeavors while staying calm and focused. This blog post is a message of consolation to those who understand where I am coming from. Times may seem stressful, there may seem to be no end to the work and no beginning to the calm we all look for. It sure seems that way to me sometimes. But I am sure that some day life will slow down; decelerate to a speed where focus is possible and peace and calm are attainable. I really have no clue as to when this race will become a less competitive stroll, but odds are it will come later that sooner. I look at people my age and see rushed lifestyles where life blows by us and the roses have no scent. I see my parents and my friends parents, there still seems to be that quick pace and lack of focus. But when I look at my grandparents and the other grandparents that occupy the sidelines during a soccer match I see what I look forward to. I see people content with their accomplishments and the past behind. I guess I have that to work towards, the ability to stay calm, cool and collected while enjoying my grandchild’s soccer game and not worrying about the nagging, relentless things I deal with now.

The epitome of calm, cool and collected is this guy. He has so little to think about and so much time to contemplate about his few tasks at hand. I want to say I envy him but I only envy part of him. I envy his ability to focus but not his caged lifestyle. If only I could learn that portion of his mentality.

 

 

 

 

 

Leave a comment

1 Comment

  1. Much better, but still need less “stream of consciousness” and more critical thinking:
    example: ” This blog post is a message of consolation to those who understand where I am coming from. Times may seem stressful, there may seem to be no end to the work and no beginning to the calm we all look for” to whom are you addressing this? Why make your reader wonder?
    “I look at people my age and see rushed lifestyles where life blows by us and the roses have no scent. I see my parents and my friends parents, there still seems to be that quick pace and lack of focus. But when I look at my grandparents and the other grandparents that occupy the sidelines during a soccer match I see what I look forward to. ” What do you thin accounts for this…doesn’t age and energy have something to do with such behaviors? Maybe you can find some EVIDENCE to support your opinions in future posts.
    Finally, your comment about the monk, “The epitome of calm, cool and collected is this guy. He has so little to think about and so much time to contemplate about his few tasks at hand. I” is really not appropriate. How do you know he has “little to think about”? Are you aware of the values of meditation? Perhaps he is contemplating the political sacrifices many monks make through self-immolation? How do you know he is not praying …an activity that requires great suppression of thought in order to communicate with the divine? Why would you think he is not thinking or had so LITTLE to think about?

    Reply

Leave a Reply

