Conclusions on Memory

Blogging about the word “memory” was far more interesting than I ever thought it would be. It did not take me long to come up with new ideas for blogs or how I could make personal connections, or videos I might want to add. My ideas seemed to come naturally. Memory is a word that is infinite in the world and holds more baggage than other words in my opinion. Society, individual people, are shaped by memory, in other words, what happens in their past. Without memory, the world would not exist, people wouldn’t flourish and develop into unique individuals. When I realized how the word “memory” operates in society, I realized how prevalent it is. Art, psychology, mathematics, family, love…anything and everything has to do with memory. Extending the word over time was not a problem for this reason.

As someone who has a really sharp memory, I thought this word connected to me rather well, without giving too much away. In my family, I’m always the one who remembers everyone’s birthdays, addresses and random sorts of things. When someone can’t remember a certain something, the first person they ask is me. I think remembering things, even things that might not be important to my life, sets me aside from the average person. I find memory important, but I don’t necessarily live in the past. I take the memories I have made in order to launch me into my future. I have allowed the memories I have made to shape me into the person I am now. People in my life, like my grandfather, a victim of Alzheimer’s, have allowed me to appreciate and cherish my life even more.

I think my most unique blog was about art. I would consider that blog to be most abstract, and probably the most difficult one to compose. I am not necessarily an artsy sort of person, so it required me to think outside the box a little bit. All of my other blogs had a lot of scientific and experimental evidence to go along with it; however this one just had pictures. I had to find the words to explain the pictures, and how I perceived memory within them.  Because I go more along the lines of science, my favorite post was The Power of Music. Manipulating music in order to evoke memory is an up-and-coming solution to dementia and mental deterioration with age. It really amazed me how much the human brain can be controlled by outside factors. Music, one that requires no medical investments or research, is an easy way to improve the quality of someone’s life. Blogging about this had a lasting impression on me, and I am interested as to where the research will go from here.

I think one universal problem with the word “memory”, is its three-dimensional sort of structure. The word can be taken in so many different directions and perceived in so many ways, that it became difficult to put certain concepts simply. My blog entitled Cognitive psychology behind memory and forgetting, was really hard to understand when I first researched the information. Memory is still a mystery to us, and trying to understand what we do not yet know is challenging. With that being said, and having developed an appreciation for the word, I knew where I sort of wanted to focus on. I wanted to take aspects of our society…research, music, television, artwork, literature, and even my own life to portray the word. I knew how to balance the complexity of certain topics into something I, and anyone reading my blog, could understand. Anything could become a memory.

Having read my peers other blogs, memory had some sort of connection with all of them. As a whole, I would say that “impression” was most related to “memory”. At one point, Devin defined impression as “a marking on the mind”, saying that “impression are what create people and challenge ideas, impressions span the commonalities of societies and cultures to test what people think they know and how they respond to new ideas and people”. This is pretty complex. When broken down, memory relates to this in multiple ways. Impressions as well as memory create people and challenge ideas. Impressions allow memories to occur. Images, actions and words are stored in the mind as one whole package…an idea about a certain person or place. Impressions are the stepping stones to memory. History is what binds the two together. In a lecture given by Avraham Infeld, he states the following (rest of lecture can be found by clicking this link http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=gRmG-aRBsPI:

While history is what happens in the past, memory is what connects that history with who we are today.

This statement is rather profound. Not only does it illustrate the universal, infinite importance of memory, but it differentiates it from history. Avraham Infeld has invested a lifetime building Jewish identity and strengthening the State of Israel. Avraham was appointed the President of the Chais Family Foundation at the commencement of 2007, following his retirement from the Presidency of Hillel International in September, 2006. Coming to a conclusive understanding towards the relationship between memory and history encompases multiple facets of society. It shows understanding and acceptance for what is, and what will always be…how important memory is.

Previous Post
Next Post
Leave a comment

Leave a Reply

