We Must Do That Which We Think We Cannot

We gain strength and courage and confidence by each experience in which we really stop to look fear in the face; we must do that which we think we cannot.

Eleanor Roosevelt

This is by far one of my most favorite quotes. To me, it means that no matter what you are afraid you cannot accomplish, if you stop for a moment and reevaluate, you can actually figure a way out of the impossible. By doing something that we once thought was nearly impossible, gives our character strength and courage and confidence. Every experience we encounter throughout our lives shapes us in some way or some form. For me, personally, I was once very much afraid of the sight of blood. But as I started volunteering at Sharon Hospital and was able to witness various surgical procedures and labors, the sight of blood no longer affected me. No longer am I seeing spots or growing dizzy at the sight, I am now strangely comfortable with working with it in my profession. By overcoming one of my fears, I believe my character grew both in strength and courage and confidence. 

Previous Post
Next Post
Leave a comment

2 Comments

  1. Great quote by an amazing person with a good story of experience to illustrate the sentiment. Her husband was credited with “The only thing we need to fear is fear itself”. That may be more true than ever with so many of our leaders-on both sides- whipping up fear as a political strategy.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

